News Article

Anglia Cup 2016 Round Up

Find out the winners and losers of Anglia Cup 2016

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

This year’s tournament took place on 2016’s hottest day of the year so far! The annual alumni football tournament lived up to expectation with competition both fierce and friendly. The competition drew in great crowds and players from across the country. 8 teams took part with two groups of four qualifying for the Anglia Cup or Anglia Plate competition. The groups stages saw some upsets with San Lorenzo last year’s winners losing 1-0 to newcomers Goats United.

While some struggled through the group others sailed through with the ARU Hall of Famers not losing a game. Notable mentions must go to The Founders who every year come back and compete at a high level even though they are the ‘oldies’ of the tournament a tag they jovially give themselves.

Once into the knock out stages it was clear both cup and plate competition would go to the wire. With a slip up in the group, it meant last year’s finalists would meet in the semi-finals. San Lorenzo and the ARU Hall of Famers, went head to head with last winners losing out 2-0. While the drama took place on other pitches new comers La Prise took care of their business quietly and efficiently cooling dispatching their semi-final opponents. The plate competition consisting of the two secret American football teams in disguise as footballers fought hard with one going through to the final.

So our finals were:

Cup - La Prise Vs ARU Hall of Famers

Plate – Total Football Vs Goats United

With the plate final going to penalties we saw Goats United come out victorious! While the cup final saw a shock result, but La Prise put on a fast paced structured display that took advantage of some lack lustre defence from ARU Hall of Famers!

Our Winners were – La Prise (Cup) and Goats United (Plate)

The Students’ Union every year enjoy staging the cup and congratulate all teams involved! The alumni of ARU are hugely important to us and hope we can put on more events for them in the future.

Looking forward to next year already!

From left to right - Goats United (Plate Winners) & La Prise (Cup Winners)


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.