

Executive Committee 02.09.20

Trustees Board Sub Committee Membership Changes

Background

Bye-Law 7 Trustee Sub Committees currently specifies that membership of each subcommittee should consist of the Chair of the Board of Trustees and at least three other Trustees (including at least one external Trustee).

Over the past two years it has become evident that this is creating an overburdening of governance on the President of the Students' Union, who is also the Chair of the Board. It also prevents the Chair from being able to take a more detached view of various decisions as they will have been involved in detailed discussions about every item.

Proposal

It is proposed that the membership of the subcommittees is amended to read for each one:

- 2.3 The members shall be
- 2.3.1 Four Trustees (including at least one external Trustee) appointed by the Board.
- 2.3.2 up to two Expert Members co-opted by the committee who shall not be Members of the Union
- 2.3.3 up to two student members co-opted by the committee

Appendix 1: Current Bye Law 7 Trustees Sub Committees

Recommendation:

That the Executive Committee APPROVE this proposal

19th August 2020